Is creatine vegan? What the makers of six NSF-listed tubs actually say
Last reviewed 2026-09-25. Every maker statement, certification and package size below was read from its source on that date; each is linked, or named where the source is an Amazon listing. No price is shown.
A finished creatine tub is vegan only if its maker (or a certifier) says so for that product: the ingredient's origin does not settle the capsule, flavour or processing of the tub you buy. Of six plain creatine tubs that NSF Certified for Sport lists, the maker's own words are: vegan certified for Sports Research; vegan for Klean Athlete, MegaFood, Momentous; vegetarian only for Nature Made; and no vegan statement found for Thorne. Each statement below is the maker's own, read on 2026-09-25 and linked.
What each maker says, for the exact tub
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you — commission never changes which products appear or their order (how this site is funded).
| Product | Vegan, per the maker | NSF | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sports Research Creatine Monohydrate with Creapure, unflavored, 90 servings | vegan certified (maker's statement) Sports Research's listing: “Sports Research Creapure Creatine Monohydrate is Vegan Certified”; it does not name the certifier (Amazon listing B0G16B43WK, read 2026-09-25) | NSF listing | Amazon → |
| Klean Athlete Klean Creatine, unflavored, 11.1 oz | vegan (maker's statement) Klean Athlete's own page for this 315 g tub (SKU KA57692P-315) marks it Vegan and Vegetarian, with no other ingredients; the Amazon listing itself makes no vegan statement | NSF listing | no link: sold by Pattern., a marketplace seller, not the maker |
| MegaFood Micronized Creatine Monohydrate Powder, unflavored, 500 g | vegan (maker's statement) MegaFood's listing: “FREE FROM COMPROMISE: Vegan, gluten-free, Non-GMO Project Verified” (Amazon listing B0FKW3LPSY, read 2026-09-25) | NSF listing | no link: sold by Pattern., a marketplace seller, not the maker |
| Momentous Creatine Monohydrate, unflavored, 90 servings | vegan (maker's statement) Momentous's help list of its vegan products names “Creatine” under “Fully Vegan Products”; it names the product, not a size or formulation, and the 90-serving Amazon listing (sold by Momentous US) itself makes no vegan statement | NSF listing | Amazon → |
| Nature Made Micronized Creatine Monohydrate Powder, unflavored, 450 g | vegetarian only Nature Made's listing calls it an “Unflavored, vegetarian and gluten free drink mix powder”; vegetarian is not a vegan claim (Amazon listing B0DVXMWYBC, read 2026-09-25) | NSF listing | Amazon → |
| Thorne Creatine (micronized creatine monohydrate), unflavored, 90 servings | not stated Thorne's product page marks it Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Soy Free but makes no vegan statement; dairy-free is not vegan | NSF listing | no link: sold by Pattern., a marketplace seller, not the maker |
Rows are grouped by what the maker states, not by price. Sellers are the Amazon US buy box on 2026-09-25; three tubs are shown without a link because their buy box was a marketplace seller rather than the maker. Check the current price on the listing itself.
How to read these statements
- Vegan certified is the maker saying a certifier approved it; Sports Research's listing does not name the certifier, so the certificate itself was not checked here.
- Vegan is the maker's own claim, with no certifier named.
- Vegetarian is not a vegan claim, and dairy-free or plant-based are not either.
- Not stated means the maker's page and listing say nothing about it. It is not a finding that the tub contains anything animal-derived; it means there is no vegan statement to rely on.
- NSF Certified for Sport is a separate question: it covers contaminants and label accuracy, not whether a product is vegan.
The same six by NSF certification and package size, with a calculator for a price you enter: third-party-tested creatine. Creapure as an ingredient versus a finished-product certificate: Creapure vs NSF Certified for Sport.
This page restates what each maker says about its own product, and published certification records, with attribution. It makes no health, benefit or treatment claim, gives no dosing advice, and says nothing about whether any product is safe or right for you. A certification record describes tested lots, not a permanent grade.
Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Which products appear was settled by NSF's certification records, and they are grouped by what each maker states, then by brand, before any link was attached. Price plays no part.
About & editorial standards · Methodology · Affiliate disclosure · Privacy · Contact